L S Theobald Award Celebrating Excellence in Analytical Science

The L.S. Theobald Award is made in memory of Leslie Stuart Theobald (1898-1979), who was Lecturer/Reader in Analytical Chemistry at Imperial College from 1925 until his retirement in 1963. A brief biography is available on the Royal Society of Chemistry web site. Nominations for the award are invited annually.

The award is made to someone who has demonstrated a significant contribution to the development or application of analytical chemistry/analytical science.
The Analytical Methods Trust (AMT) provides an honorarium of £1000, together with a certificate and covers reasonable expenses incurred in presenting the award lecture.

The award is open to all academic, public service and industrial scientists resident in the UK or the Republic of Ireland. It is not a requirement that the recipient should be a member of the RSC or have contributed directly to the work of the Analytical Methods Committee (AMC) or its Expert Working Groups. Trustees of the AMT are not eligible for nomination.
Examples of contributions to analytical science relevant to the award include (but are not limited to): the development of methods of analysis and/or sampling relevant to ensuring human and environment health, the application of novel or existing analytical methods to new fields, significant improvement to methods in routine use, procedures that validate and evaluate analytical methods, the quality of analytical results and contributions towards international collaborations.

Career breaks will be taken into consideration, and nominations are encouraged for those whose career has spanned a break due to caring responsibilities or personal circumstances e.g. a period of parental/adoption leave, family commitments, illness, or other exceptional circumstances.

When nominating previous RSC prize winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work.

Nomination procedure for the L S Theobald Lectureship 2023
Candidates are not permitted to nominate themselves. Nominations must include:
• A one page CV for the nominee which should include a summary of the nominees education, career
publications (including total numbers of publications and patents) and the name of an independent referee.
• A one-page supporting statement identifying the nominee’s contribution to analytical chemistry/analytical

Nominations should be submitted by email to Ian Lumley, AMT Secretary (ian_lumley@btinternet.com)

The closing date for nominations is Friday 25 August 2023

Selection committee
The Analytical Methods Trust (AMT), or a sub-committee appointed by the AMT to make a recommendation, will make the final decision on the award. No person associated with a nomination will be permitted to participate in the consideration or decision making process for the award.

Presentation of the Theobald Award lecture
The recipient of the LS Theobald Award is normally required to present an award lecture, usually in association with a meeting of the Royal Society of Chemistry Analytical Methods Committee or of the RSC Analytical Science Community’s Groups and Regions